Sarahs knitting shawls: Turning off and finishing up

My friends can all attest to the fact that, in general, I am constantly on the go, running from one job, to class, to student teaching, to my other job, back home to catch up on homework and grading, a quick sleep, and back out again.  I think because of this perpetual frenetic train of DOING IMPORTANT THINGS, when I am faced with the reality of two weeks off with only vague looming deadlines I completely and totally TURN OFF.

Since Christmas I have basically done nothing but read (for pleasure) and knit (also for pleasure), peppered with some Netflix and back episodes of podcasts so I don’t have to knit in silence.  I have been the definition of a lumpy, lazy, procrastinator.  It feels wonderful.

With all this delightful turned-off time, I FINALLY finished my Light and Up shawl!!  I plowed through the second bit of lace the past couple of days (those long rows of yarn-over-knit-two-together took FOREVER), and then was faced with the decision of how to finish off.  I knew I wanted to add a little more lace, but after weighing my yarn, I wasn’t confident I could squeeze out another full 3 rows of eyelets.  I made my tassels first, just to be sure I could stretch this yarn as far as possible without sacrificing the finishing touches.

20160102_144902

Aren’t they cute?!?!  I wanted them pretty dainty, so I cut my own piece of cardboard, wrapped pretty lightly, then tied them tight with the same yarn.

20160102_144133

 

After the tassels were taken care of I decided to just add one more single eyelet row with a bit of stockinette for the edge, and then bind off.  Binding off always seems to take me ages, but I made it!  The thing is finished and it is glorious!!  Look look look!!

20160102_191736

I’ll wash and block it tomorrow, and attach the tassels, too (pics forthcoming).  I haven’t quite figured out where/how I’m going to spread this thing out while it dries.  Things are already pretty cramped in the basement (did I mention I live in a basement?), and I don’t think the boy’s parents would take to kindly to me sticking pins all over the guest bed.  I’m considering some voodoo revenge on a futon in the basement; the temporary spatial inconvenience might be worth stabbing back at that nasty mattress!

But I’m done!  Also, how Sarah-ndipitous that we both finished the same day?  With the holidays being so hectic, we Sarahs haven’t chatted in a couple of weeks, so I had no idea where her progress was until I read the post just now.  Bye for now, all!  School’s not back in session for another week, so I’m turning off again.

Leave a Reply

