Melt, Chill, Whip

My lovely boyfriend Nate has often tolerated my complaints about the seemingly endless supply of beauty products that are gifted into my life.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love all types of balms, lotions, scrubs, soaps, unguents, and oils as much as the next person, but up until about 6 months ago I hadn’t purchased my own soap in several years.  It seemed like every birthday and Christmas I was doomed to receive 4 or 5 different beauty things, and all I really wanted to do was choose my own.

Well, this Christmas was wondrously light on beauty, and all I came away with was a small tin of hand cream, a funny-smelling deodorant that I’ll probably chuck, and this super fun (scary?) caffeine mask that I used earlier today. Shortly before the holidays I had run out of body lotion, and now that I’ve come out on the other side, I decided to make my own moisturizer.mask

Nate, aforementioned lovely boyfriend, has nudged me ever closer to being more chemical conscious.  I wash my fruit now, I usually remember to drink filtered water, we made our own deodorant and toothpaste, I tried out washing my hair with baking soda and apple cider vinegar, and I even take most of the vitamins Nate slips in my pockets on my way out the door.  A quick Google search revealed a bunch of nasty stuff I’d been slathering on my body using my last lotion.  In the interest of keeping up my Portland hippie cred, I figured I’d experiment with natural moisturizer at home.

I found a recipe I liked, ordered some shea butter and jojoba oil, and dug up some essential oils from the cupboard.  The recipe I chose is simple, and was pretty easy!  It only involved three ingredients plus a mixer, spatula, and a double boiler.

prep

shea

Shea butter is funny looking, but I’m confident that it will feel delightful.  First, I melted.

melt

And melted…

melt2

Then it went to the fridge to chill, while I watched the Blazers game.  And then I whipped!

whip

Put it in a jar, and that’s it!  All done!

jar

So far I have only used the bits left in the mixing bowl on my hands, but they are soft, silky, and chemical-free.  Now, if only I could be this motivated to type up that pesky teaching portfolio…

One thought on “Melt, Chill, Whip

Leave a Reply

