Giving Thanks

Thanksgiving is by far my favorite holiday.  It has all the food and family greatness of Christmas, without the stress and financial strain of gifts.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Christmas, and I love both giving and receiving gifts, Thanksgiving is just a bit more my speed.  Currently, I’m sitting in my PJs by the fire, eating a slice of my mom’s Krummelkuchen (a German cherry crumb cake), sipping some coffee, and listening to Christmas carols.  It is a delightful morning indeed.  And, yes, I’m THAT person who starts listening to carols as soon as it is socially acceptable to do so.  I told you I loved Christmas.

cakeandcoffee

While I do have a long weekend off from student teaching, I have a lot of work to do on a work sample for licensure, so I’ll be spending a good portion of my “break” typing up reflections about the unit I just finished teaching.  Once I’m done putting it off, that is.

In my post-feast stupor yesterday I did manage to knit a few rows on The Shawl.  I’ve gotten to the first lace section, and the thing is getting huge.  I can no longer spread it out on the needle so it’s a total mystery as to what size it actually is.  As long as it’s big and squooshy (a technical term)in the end I’ll be happy.

lace.jpg

toobig

Since it is Thanksgiving (well, not technically, but I like to extend my holidays) I should give thanks.  I am thankful for so many things.  I’m thankful that I live in a warm house where I am safe and have food, that I have the privilege of going to school to study what I love, and that I have family and friends who love and support me.  Things are pretty good where I’m at right now, and I hope I don’t take that for granted.

 

One thought on “Giving Thanks

  1. Sarah Lou 3 December 2015 / 7:51 am

    You’ve totally overtaken me on Shawl progress- I have some weird stitch count issues on the third row of lace and it’s too many stitches to just casually rip out… So I’m putting it down in hopes that it’ll be magically fixed when I pick it up again. Thoughts on that lace row counting thing?

    Like

Leave a Reply

