The Shawl

I’m trying to write more, and to knit more, and to think more.  I have no desire to be famous, or really to even be read, but I like the idea of being accountable to an audience.  And so, I shall blog.

I’ve been getting my feet wet writing for the masses guest posting on my dear friend Sarah’s blog One Last Stitch.  We are each knitting a version of the same shawl  at the same time and writing about the process.  When we first started the project I thought, how am I possibly going to come up with enough material for several posts, just from one silly shawl?  Now that I’m in the middle of it I realize I had no reason to worry.  I have so many thoughts and ideas, I almost can’t fit them into the posts I’ve been writing!  I was going to put off starting this blog until my guest series (and fall term of grad school) was over, but I see now that knitting begets writing begets writing begets blogging.  And so, I shall blog.

First, my shawl.

I’m beginning to see this project as a beast of its own, not just any shawl but The Shawl.  It’s consuming me and seems to have pull over many aspects of my life that I had thought were far removed from My Knitting Life.  My car, for instance.  The Shawl spends quite a bit of time sitting untouched on the front seat of my car as I traipse back and forth between my various activities.  I think The Shawl resents this and craves more of my attention.  I think The Shawl has a grudge against my car.  I am, people of the internet, completely convinced that The Shawl broke my car on purpose.

I’ll explain.  Being a Portlander and attempting to live a relatively “green” lifestyle, I feel a little guilty about how much I drive.  I work two part time jobs, I attend graduate school classes at two separate campuses, and I’m currently student teaching at a high school.  That adds up to at least 6 separate destinations that I need to get to during the week; most days I go to my student teaching, a graduate class, one of my jobs, and then home.  My car is fuel efficient and small, but that doesn’t change the fact that I am yet another single occupancy vehicle clogging the road.  Unfortunately, the way my life is structured right now, I really really need my car.

 

Well, Friday night it seems that The Shawl had had quite enough of languishing in my knitting bag while I drove to and fro, and by some witchcraft made the engine light come on.  The next day I left The Shawl at home, and it was naturally miffed at this and made the engine light start flashing.  It’s Monday now, my car is in the shop, and I have so many unoccupied minutes on the bus or in the cars of friends who have volunteered to schlep me to my various activities.  All that time is perfect for knitting The Shawl.  Coincidence?  I think not!

20151116_124942

On Tuesday…

I have my car back again, as well as some significant progress on The Shawl.  I’m happy to be mobile again, especially with my schedule the way it is.  However, taking the bus and hitching rides for a day reminded me that public transit isn’t really so bad.  I think because I have gotten so used to driving everywhere I have it in my head that public transit is slow and inconvenient.  And, let’s be honest, sometimes it is.  But sometimes it can also be really relaxing to let someone else do the driving.  Maybe The Shawl isn’t a monster, maybe it just knows that sometimes I need to be forced to slow down and knit a few rows.

One thought on “The Shawl

  1. Sarah Lou 18 November 2015 / 10:45 am

    Get it, girl. I feel the same way, that blogging is about being responsible to an audience, however large or small, but also about being responsible to myself. I don’t start as many projects without really committing to finishing them, which is a radical new thing for me, and I am driven to actually do the finishing in a timely manner! My dad’s sweater would still be wool in a plastic tote if I hadn’t made myself write about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

